Monday, July 12, 2010

Networks specifications

Computers communicate over networks using unique addresses assigned by system software. A computer message, called a packet, frame, or datagram, includes the address of the destination computer and the sender’s return address. The three most common types of networks are broadcast, point-to-point, and switched. Once popular token-based networks (such as FDDI and token ring) are rarely seen anymore.

Speed is critical to the proper functioning of the Internet. Newer specifications (cat 6 and cat 7) are being standardized for 1000BaseT (1 gigabit per second, called gigabit Ethernet, or GIG-E) and faster networking. Some of the networks that form the backbone of the Internet run at speeds of almost 10 gigabits per second (OC192) to accommodate the ever-increasing demand for network services.

Network specifications
64 kilobits per second

Two DS0 lines plus signaling (16 kilobits per second) or 128 kilobits per second

1.544 megabits per second (24 DS0 lines)

43.232 megabits per second (28 T-1s)

155 megabits per second (100 T-1s)

622 megabits per second (4 OC3s)

2.5 gigabits per seconds (4 OC12s)

9.6 gigabits per second (4 OC48s)

Source of Information : Prentice Hall A Practical Guide to Fedora and Red Hat Enterprise Linux 5th Edition

No comments: