Tuesday, August 18, 2015

Standards in Quality Domain

Composite Agile Relevance
CMMI (currently v 1.2): Capability Maturity Model of the Software Engineering Institute of Carnegie Mellon University
Primarily focuses on the maturity of processes used in developing software systems. This standard provides a measure of formality and repeatability of activities and tasks within a process. CAMS process maps with embedded Agile practices can be subjected to CMMI maturity; this, in turn, can be used for process improvement
ISO9001: 2000: International Organization for Standardization
ISO9000, published by the International Organization for Standardization, provides an overarching framework for quality requirements within projects and across the organization. Agile quality practices and V&V of deliverables can be carried out within the framework of this quality standard
ISTQB: International Software Testing Qualifications Board
Provides an increasingly popular testing certification whose competencies form the basis of a testing framework. The testing competencies in this framework are measured across three levels: foundation, advanced, and expert. The quality control process map of CAMS provides the starting point for application of this framework in projects. The ISTQB has initiated the creation of Test Body of Knowledge (TBOK)
SPICE: Software Process Improvement and Capability Evaluation (also determination)
This is a global initiative to develop an international standard for assessing software processes. Focusing initially on software development processes, this standard now encompasses all processes related to software such as project management and quality assurance. Currently, SPICE covers six major business areas: organizational, management, engineering, acquisition supply, support, and operations. Owing to its wide coverage of organizational processes, an opportunity exists to apply SPICE to CAMS
V&V, verification and validation.

No comments: